Das BaM-Team startete 2018 mit einem Team von neun: vier Doktoranden, zwei Postdocs, einem Senior Researcher, einem Projektmanager und dem Studienleiter

Maurice Crul

Professor für Soziologie an der VU Universität Amsterdam und Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Bildung und Diversität

Elif Keskiner

Senior Researcher

Ismintha Waldring

Postdoktorandin

Laure Michon

Postdoktorandin

Josje Schut

Doktorandin

Marina Lazëri

Doktorandin

Kim Knipprath

Doktorand

Lisa-Marie Kraus

Doktorandin

Frans Lelie

Projektmanagerin

Maurice Crul ist Professor für Soziologie an der VU Universität Amsterdam und Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Bildung und Diversität. Die letzten 25 Jahren hat er vor allem die Schul- und Arbeitsmarktkarrieren von Migrantenkindern erforscht, zuerst in den Niederlanden, später im vergleichendem Kontext von Europa, den USA und Australien. Crul koordinierte zwei internationale Großprojekte: das TIES-Projekt (The Integration of the European Second generation) mit einer Studie von 10.000 Teilnehmern und das ELITES, Pathways to Success Projekt. In beiden Projekten analysierte er die Faktoren, die Kindern von Arbeitsmigranten geholfen haben, in Bildung und auf dem Arbeitsmarkt erfolgreich zu sein und wie die Ergebnisse in die Politik umgesetzt werden können. Zudem erforscht er die Bildungschancen syrischer Flüchtlingskinder im Libanon, der Türkei, Australien und Deutschland, sowie Studenten- und Peer-Mentoring im Bereich Bildung. Weiterhin koordiniert er Forschungsprojekte zu Fragen von Diversität und Ungleichheit im Bereich Hochschulbildung in den Niederlanden. Im Jahr 2017 wurde er mit dem renommierten ERC Advanced Grant für das Projekt "Becoming a Minority" (BaM) ausgezeichnet. BaM konzentriert sich auf die Erfahrungen und Meinungen von Menschen ohne Migrationshintergrund, die in Europa in Stadtteilen leben in denen Minderheiten die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung stellen.

Elif Keskiner ist Senior Researcher im BaM Projekt. Als Soziologin ist sie sowohl in quantitativen als auch in qualitativen Forschungsmethoden ausgebildet und verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der internationalen vergleichenden Forschung. Sie promovierte an der Universität Amsterdam und fokussierte sich in ihrer Dissertation auf die Phase des Übergangs von türkischstämmigen Jugendlichen zum Erwachsenwerden (sog. „youth transitions“) in Straßburg und Amsterdam. Ihre Studie zeigte deutliche Transition-Muster in der zweiten Generation und unterstreicht die Bedeutung der Kapitalentwicklung in verschiedenen institutionellen Bereichen. Später arbeitete sie in ihren Postdoc-Projekten an vergleichenden internationalen Projekten wie dem ELITES-Projekt und dem RESL.eu-Projekt, wo sie weiterhin ihre Interessen an Kapitalentwicklung und youth transitions verfolgte. Zur ihren Veröffentlichungen zählt eine breite Palette an Themen in der Soziologie wie zum Beispiel Jugendsoziologie, Transitions, Kapitaltheorie und Intersektionalität in Bezug auf soziale Klasse, Ethnizität und Geschlecht in der urbanen Umgebung.

Ismintha Waldring ist Postdoktorandin im BaM-Projekt. Sie erhielt ihr Doppel-doktorat in Soziologie an der Freien Universität von Amsterdam (VU) und der Universität Antwerpen. Ihre Forschung befasste sich in der Vergangenheit mit den Erfolgswegen und Erfahrungen im Arbeitsmarkt von hochqualifizierten Türkischstämmigen der zweiten Generation in vier europäischen Ländern. Im Allgemeinen umfassen Ismintha's Forschungsinteressen symbolische Grenzstrategien, subtile Mechanismen der Ausgrenzung in organisatorischen Umgebungen (insbesondere im Bildungssektor) und die Rolle von Bildungs Fachkräften im Kontext europäischer Großstädte.

Laure Michon ist Politikwissenschaftlerin und interessiert sich für Interaktionen zwischen Stadtbewohnern. Sie promovierte 2011 an der Universität von Amsterdam mit einer Dissertation über ethnische Minderheiten in lokaler Politik. Anhand eines Vergleichs zwischen Amsterdam und Paris untersuchte sie, wie ethnische Minderheiten Zugang zu Politik erhalten, wie sich ihre politischen Karrieren entwickeln und was sie von ihrer Repräsentation halten. Seit 2011 ist Laure Leitende Wissenschaftlerin der Stadt Amsterdam, wo sie Armut, Diskriminierung und Vielfalt in der Stadt erforscht. Sie ist Postdoktorandin im BaM-Projekt.

Josje Schut ist Doktorandin im BaM-Projekt an der Freien Universität von Amsterdam (VU). Sie erwarb ihren Master in Soziologie an der gleichnamigen Universität und befasste sich in ihrer Masterarbeit mit den „Heimatgefühlen“ von Niederländern ohne Migrationshintergrund, welche in ethnisch-vielfältigen Nachbarschaften in Amsterdam zu Hause sind. Josje interessiert sich vor allem für die Erforschung von Diskursen bezüglich Diversität als auch für alltägliche Beziehungen in Nachbarschaften.

Marina Lazëri ist interdisziplinäre Sozialwissenschaftlerin und Doktorandin an der Freien Universität Amsterdam (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam). Ihre Forschungsinteressen betreffen nationale Identität, Soziale Schichtung und interethnische Einstellungen. Sie erhielt ihren Master of Science in Migration, Ethnische Beziehungen und Multikulturalismus an der Universität Utrecht. Ihre Masterarbeit schrieb Sie über Einstellungen zur Stellung von Migranten im Sozialstaat. Zuvor absolvierte Sie ihren Bachelor in Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Utrecht. Vor ihrer tätigkeit als Doktorandin an der VU lehrte Marina an der Erasmus Universität Rotterdam und an der Universität Utrecht. Sie unterrichtete verschiedene interdisziplinäre Kurse, unteranderem Interkulturelle Kommunikation, Interdisziplinäre Sozialwissenschaften, Migration und Integration sowie einen Einführungskurs in die Psychologie.

 

Kim Knipprath ist Doktorand an der VU University Amsterdam (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam). Seine Forschung konzentriert sich hauptsächlich auf interethnische Beziehungen auf Stadt- und Nachbarschafts Ebene. Er verwendet quantitative und qualitative Methoden, um zu untersuchen, wie die Einstellungen und Verhaltensweisen von Bewohnern ohne Migrationshintergrund durch die Art und Weise bestimmt werden, in der verschiedene ethnische Gruppen im Städtischen Raum organisiert sind. Kim hat seinen Research Master in den Sozial- und Verhaltenswissenschaften an der Tilburg University erworben, wo er seine Masterarbeit über soziale Ressentiments und deren Beziehung zu Populismus und politischem Zynismus verfasste.

Lisa-Marie Kraus wurde in Deutschland geboren und nach einigen Auslandsaufenthalten absolvierte sie 2015 ein Masterstudium in Kunst, Kultur und Gesellschaft in den Niederlanden. Zu dieser Zeit war sie ebenfalls als Forschungsassistentin und Lehrkraft für Statistik an der Universität in Rotterdam tätig. Nach dem Abschluss des Studiums wurde sie Teil des BaM Teams als Doktorandin an der Freien Universität Amsterdam. Innerhalb von BaM liegt ihr Fokus auf sozialer Mobilität.

Frans Lelie ist Fellow am Institut für Soziologie der Freien Universität in Amsterdam. Als ausgebildete Sozialarbeiterin hat sie mit Frauen mit Migrationshintergrund und deren Familien gearbeitet. In den letzten fünfzehn Jahren hat sie sich mit dem Thema Bildung von Kindern von Einwanderern und Flüchtlingen beschäftigt. Sie war Projektmanagerin und Webmasterin von zwei großen internationalen Projekten: dem TIES-Projekt (Integration der europäischen zweiten Generation) und dem ELITES-Projekt Pathways to Success.

Für das Projekt "Pathways to Success" produzierte sie fünf Kurzfilme, die sich mit Rollenvorbildern der zweiten Generation der TIES-Umfrage befassten, und von deren Erfolgswegen in Belgien, Frankreich, Deutschland und den Niederlanden erzählen: https://www.elitesproject.eu/educational-kit

Sie ist die Projektmanagerin für das Projekt Becoming a Minority (BaM).

In 2018 the BaM team started with a team of nine: four PhD candidates, two postdocs, one senior researcher, a project manager, and the principal investigator.

Maurice Crul

Professor at the Sociology department of the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU) holding the chair Education and Diversity

Elif Keskiner

Senior researcher

Ismintha Waldring

Postdoctoral researcher

Laure Michon

Postdoctoral researcher

Josje Schut

PhD candidate

Marina Lazëri

PhD candidate

Kim Knipprath

PhD candidate

Lisa-Marie Kraus

PhD candidate

Frans Lelie

Project manager

Maurice Crul is a Professor at the Sociology department of the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU) holding the chair Education and Diversity. In the last twenty-five years he has mostly worked on the topic of education and children of immigrants, first within the Dutch context and in the last fifteen years in a comparative European and transatlantic context. He coordinated two major international projects: the TIES project (The Integration of the European Second generation) which included a survey among 10,000 respondents, and ELITES, Pathways to Success. In both projects he analysed the factors that had helped children of labour migrants to achieve success in education and on the labour market, so that the outcomes could be translated into policy. Maurice Crul also researches student and peer-mentoring in education, the educational opportunities of children of Syrian refugees in Lebanon, Turkey, Australia, Germany and Sweden and coordinates research on the topic of diversity and inequality in Higher Education in the Netherlands. In 2017 he was awarded the prestigious ERC Advanced Grant to carry out Becoming a Minority (BaM), a project that examines the experiences and perspectives of people without an immigration background in European majority-minority cities.

Elif Keskiner is the senior researcher in the BaM project. As a sociologist, she is trained both in quantitative and qualitative methods and she has significant experience in international comparative research.  She received her PhD from University of Amsterdam where she studied the youth transitions of descendants of Turkish migrants living in Strasbourg and Amsterdam. Her study uncovered distinct transition patterns among Turkish second generation and highlighted the importance of capital development across distinct institutional settings. Later in her post-doc projects she continued to work on comparative international projects such as the ELITES project and the RESL.eu project, where she pursued her interests in forms of capital and youth transitions. She has published on a wide range of subjects in sociology such as youth sociology, transition pathways, capital theory, and intersections of social class, ethnicity and gender in urban settings.

Ismintha Waldring holds a joint PhD in sociology from the VU University Amsterdam and the University of Antwerp and works as a postdoctoral researcher in the BaM project. Her doctoral dissertation traced back the pathways to success and labour market experiences of highly-educated second-generation professionals of Turkish descent in four European countries. Her research interests include boundary strategies, subtle mechanisms of exclusion in organizational settings (the education sector in particular), and the role of education professionals in majority-minority city contexts in Europe.

Laure Michon is a political scientist with an interest in urban interactions. She obtained a PhD in Social Sciences from the University of Amsterdam in 2011. Her dissertation addressed ethnic minority representation at the local level: the access to politics, the development of political careers and the representation of ethnic minority councilors in Amsterdam and Paris. Since 2011 she is a senior researcher at the City of Amsterdam, working on issues of poverty, discrimination and diversity. She joined the BaM-team as a postdoctoral researcher.

Josje Schut joined the BaM project at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU) as a PhD candidate. She received her Master’s degree in Sociology at the VU, where she wrote her thesis on ‘Home feelings’ of residents from Dutch descent living in a super-diverse neighborhood in Amsterdam. Josje’s main research interests concern discourses of diversity and everyday relations at the neighborhood level.

Marina Lazëri is an interdisciplinary social scientist and a PhD candidate at the Free University of Amsterdam (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam). Her research interests concern national identity, societal positioning, and interethnic attitudes. She graduated with a Master of Science in Migration, Ethnic Relations and Multiculturalism from Utrecht University. She wrote her Master’s thesis on attitudes about the place of migrants in the welfare state. Previous to that she finished her Bachelor’s degree on Political Science at University College Utrecht. Before starting her PhD at the VU, Marina taught at Erasmus University Rotterdam and Utrecht University. She taught various interdisciplinary courses, such as intercultural communication, interdisciplinary social science, migrants and integration, and introduction to psychology.

 

Kim Knipprath is a PhD candidate at the VU University Amsterdam (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam). His research mainly focuses on interethnic relations at the city and neighborhood level. He uses quantitative and qualitative methods to study how attitudes and behaviors of residents without migration background are shaped by the ways in which different ethnic groups are organized in urban space. Kim got his Research Master in the Social and Behavioral Sciences at Tilburg University where he wrote his thesis about social resentment and its relation to populism and political cynicism.

Lisa-Marie Kraus was born in Germany but has spent a big part of her life abroad. After leaving South Africa in 2015, she moved to the Netherlands and obtained a MA degree in Arts, Culture and Society at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam. During that time, she also started to work as a research assistant and lecturer for statistics. After finishing her studies, she joined the BaM Team at the VU University Amsterdam as PhD candidate. Within the framework of the project she focuses on social mobility.

Frans Lelie is a fellow at the department of Sociology at the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam. A social worker by training, she has worked with women and their families with a migration background. In the last fifteen years she has been working on the topic of education of the children of immigrants and refugees. She was the project manager and web-master of two major international projects: the TIES project (The Integration of the European Second generation) and the ELITES, Pathways to Success project.

For the Pathways to Success project, she produced five short movies looking at role models belonging to the second generation from the TIES survey, telling about their pathways to success in Belgium, France, Germany and The Netherlands: https://www.elitesproject.eu/educational-kit

She is the project manager for the project Becoming a Minority (BaM).